About the Program

The WHS Scholarship Committee was created by the Wayland School Committee and a group of interested parents in 1978 to raise money and provide financial aid for graduating seniors to further their education. We seek to support students who demonstrate financial need as well as academic promise and community service.  

We are currently comprised of ten citizen members and other ex officio members, many of whom are employees of the Wayland Public Schools. We meet monthly, solicit donations, invest the money we receive, and at the end of every school year we award scholarships to qualified graduating seniors to assist in their first year of college.  
The WHS Scholarship application process is fairly simple. First, we require that students complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) form. To be eligible for an award, your Student Aid Index (SAI) must be $40,000 or less. Students must also complete an application that consists of three questions and work with the guidance department to submit their transcripts and letters of recommendation. Finally, we interview every applicant to match them with the most appropriate award(s). 

In 2023 we awarded $92,000 to 21 deserving seniors. This year we hope to have more money available, and we hope that more students will apply. We give awards to Wayland residents, students who attend WHS through the METCO program, students who are going on to two- and four-year colleges, and students who are doing other post-graduate work in an accredited program.  
We have 51 named awards, which have been created in memory/honor of community members or employees of the Wayland Public Schools. You can donate to any of these named awards, to the Quarter Century award in honor of a favorite retiring teacher, or to the general endowment.  
You can see why we are inspired to keep doing this valuable work, to support our children who will become the citizens of tomorrow – and we hope you will join us by making a contribution to the WHS Scholarship program at P.O. Box 36, Wayland, MA. 

Jeanne Brown, Chair  Amy Sullivan, Treasurer 

Kara Brown  Cynthia Bryant 

Julie Ellenbogen  Aida Gennis 

James Hammond 

Sang Kim 

Chabeli Nadal 

Suzanne Tiberii 


Ex Officio 

Allyson Mizoguchi - Principal, WHS 

Ben Buffa - WHS Guidance 

Lee Krasnoo - Faculty Representative 



Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.