Forms and Resources

This page includes many important and interesting links. Please let us know if any of the links are not working or need further updating. Thank you for your patience as we can only periodically update the site during the school year. 

 

Confidential Safety Reporting Form 
Health and Wellness Safety Resources
Social Emotional Support Resources

Guidance Summer Letters to Parents and 
Important Dates and Information for 2019-2020

Program of Studies/Handbooks/Guides

WHS 2019-2020 Profile
Future Planning Workbook for Juniors, Seniors and Parents/Guardians 
WHS Student Clubs
- New for Students! 

Current List of Clubs (2019)
Program of Studies (Grades 10-12)
Program of Studies (Grade 9 only)
Guidance Parent Handbook 

Student Handbook
9th Grade Parent Handbook 
Massachusetts State University Admissions Standards Webpage
Massachusetts State University Admissions Standards Guide
Commonwealth Commitment through Mass Transfer 
NACAC Guide to College Admissions Process
NCAA Eligibility Brochure 2019-2020
Guide to New England Colleges and Universities 2018


Forms

WHS Profile
Junior Packet
Confidential Safety Reporting Form
Alumni Transcript Request
Community Service Log
College Visit Permission Form


Especially for Parents

MEFA Financial Aid Presentation (10/2019)
MEFA Flier (Understanding Financial Aid)
Parent Brag Sheet
Guidance Calendar for All
NEBHE Regional Student Program
 (if you are pursuing a unique major you may be able to attend an out of state school for in state prices)
Don't You Trust Me Booklet
Factors to Consider When Making Your Final College Choice
Mental Health Links for Parents


Quick and Popular Resource Links


Naviance Family Connection/Naviance Student

The Common Application

The College Board (SAT and Subject Tests) 
ACT
FairTest: The National Center for Fair and Open testing
The Colleges that Change Lives
: website, which is a spin off of Loren Pope's book. A great site and a great book!
NCAA Eligibility Center
Massachusetts State University Admissions Standards Guide
Wellness and Safety Resources for Students/Families
Social Emotional Support Resources
Mental Health Links for Parents
Wayland Youth and Family Services
Wayside Youth and Family Support Network

WaylandCares
Volunteer and Community Service Opportunities
Teen Life Boston
Trade and Vocational Schools (Accredited Schools)
Campus Pride LGBT Resource

LGBTQIA Safe Sex Guide: https://www.healthline.com/health/lgbtqia-safe-sex-guide
You Visit Virtual College Tour Site


Financial Aid/Scholarship Resources

WHS Scholarship Program
FAFSA
CSS Profile
College Financial Aid Codes
College Financial Aid Calculators
MEFA Financial Aid Presentation
 (10/2019)
MEFA Flier (Understanding Financial Aid)
FastWeb.com
FinAid.org
Massachusetts Educational Financing Authority (MEFA)
Raise Me (Scholarship site)
Tuck Sleep Scholarships
Free Scholarship Online Search Engines


Internship Programs and other Gap Year Resources

The Education Cooperative:  http://www.tec-coop.org/career-exploration-internships-college-fairs

Think Beyond Borders: https://thinkingbeyondborders.org/
Teen Life: https://www.teenlife.com/

Dynamy: http://www.dynamy.org

Center for Interim Programs: http://www.interimprograms.com

Taking Off: http://www.takingoff.net

Gap Year: http://www.gapyear.com
Gap Year Solutions https://gapyearsolutions.wordpress.com/

The Leap (Organization based in the UK): www.TheLeap.co.uk 


Exploring College Options and College Search Sites

Accredited Colleges in Massachusetts:  https://www.accreditedschoolsonline.org/massachusetts/
Big Future - https://bigfuture.collegeboard.org/
College and scholarship searches from authors of Peterson's College Guides: petersons.com

The Association of Independent Colleges of Art and Design: aicad.org

Historically Black Colleges Website: https://hbculifestyle.com/hbcus-101-getting-started/
LGBTQ Guide  to Higher Education: https://online.maryville.edu/blog/college-guide-for-lgbtq-students/  

College Resources for Diverse and Multicultural Students
https://www.bestcolleges.com/resources/diverse-and-multicultural-students/

Financial Aid Opportunities for Minority Students
https://www.bestcolleges.com/financial-aid/minority-students/

America's Most Diverse Colleges
https://www.bestcolleges.com/features/most-diverse-colleges/

Scholarship application for the Point Foundation for LGBTQ students: 
http://www.pointfoundation.org/OnlineApplicationInfo 

Campus Pride is a resource for LGBTQ students in the college search process: http://www.campuspride.org/collegefair/ 

The LGBT-Friendly Campus Climate Index: specifically for  (LGBTQ) and ally youth and their families: campusclimateindex.org/ 

Explore Online Colleges  - https://www.affordablecollegesonline.org/

Discover Business has a database of business schools and programs:   http://www.discoverbusiness.us/education/online-mba/us/massachusetts/ 


Financial Aid and Scholarship Sites

http://www.fafsa.ed.gov/

http://www.mefacounselor.org/  

https://www.discover.com/student-loans/college-planning/index.html  

FAFSA and Financial Aid Guidebook:  https://www.affordablecollegesonline.org/financial-aid/financial-aid-for-online-colleges/

http://www.nebhe.org/tuitionbreak  Massachusetts State Universities Regional Student Program - a great deal!

http://www.scholarships.com/
http://www.fastweb.com/
http://www.finaid.org/
http://www.massmentor.edu-specific to Massachusetts colleges and universities
http://www.salliemae.com/planning/scholarships.html

http://www.college-scholarships.com  -- At the bottom of this site/homepage you can find college contact information by state, including admissions and financial aid office email addresses, toll free phone numbers, and links to online applications for admission. 

http://www.guaranteed-scholarships.com: -- lists scholarships given by individual colleges to all enrolled students meeting the stated criteria.

Coupon Follow: https://couponfollow.com/research/ultimate-savings-guide-for-college


Community Service and Jobs for Youth

Guide to Boston service, job and internship opportunities in Boston: 
http://www.cityofboston.gov/students/working/ - includes links to community service opportunities, internship info, resume tips, and job resources in the area 

 City of Boston Youth Zone (the department of Youth Engagement and Employment: https://www.boston.gov/departments/youth-engagement-and-employment

 Zip Recruiter- Jobs for High School Students: https://www.ziprecruiter.com/high-school-jobs

Taking a Year Off--The Gap Year

Teen Life: Excellent internship and gap year options: http://www.teenlife.com/



Travel Programs

CIEE High School and GapYear Abroad: http://www.ciee.org/hsabroad/

World Learning: http://www.worldlearning.org

American Foreign Service: http://www.afs.org

National Outdoor Leadership School: http://www.nols.edu

Outward Bound: http://www.outwardbound.org
The Leap (Organization based in the UK): www.TheLeap.co.uk 


Community Service Programs

City Year: http://www.cityyear.org/

Habitat forHumanity-Boston: http://www.habitatboston.org/

Americorps: https://nationalservice.gov/programs/americorps

Earthwatch: http://www.earthwatch.org
The Leap (Organization based in the UK): www.TheLeap.co.uk

The Samaritans: https://samaritanshope.org/volunteering/
A Telephone Befriending Service in search of nonjudgmental listening and support people, has a year long volunteer program which a student desiring an interim high school college experience may consider. 
Locations in: Boston, MA (617) 536-2460, Cape Cod (508) 548-7999, FallRiver (508) 679-9777, Framingham (508) 872-1780, Methuen (978) 688-0030

Institute for International Cooperation and Development: http://www.iicd-volunteer.org

ServeNet Volunteer Opportunities - Volunteer Match: http://www.volunteermatch.org/search/org7886.jsp

National Association for Service andConservation Corps: http://www.nascc.org

Internship Programs and other Gap Year Resources

The Education Cooperative: 
http://www.tec-coop.org/career-exploration-internships-college-fairs
Think Beyond Borders: https://thinkingbeyondborders.org/

Teen Life: https://www.teenlife.com/

Dynamy: http://www.dynamy.org

Center for InterimPrograms: http://www.interimprograms.com

Taking Off: http://www.takingoff.net

Gap Year: http://www.gapyear.com
Gap Year Solutions https://gapyearsolutions.wordpress.com/

The Leap (Organization based in the UK): www.TheLeap.co.uk 

Career Information Sites

http://www.careersandcolleges.com

http://www.math.unl.edu/~nmsi/tQ2/assessment.html

http://campus.monster.com/

https://www.ultimatemedical.edu/healthcare-career-guide

 

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.